Lillard named a finalist for Bob Cousy Award
Courtesy: Weber State  
Release: Saturday 02/02/2012
Courtesy: Robert Casey
View larger
Lillard is one of 11 finalists in the nation for the Cousy Award.

Weber State junior guard Damian Lillard has been named one of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Collegiate Point Guard of the Year Award, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame announced today.  The annual honor, named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes the top point guard in college basketball.

Earlier this season Lillard was named to the final list of 20 players for the award.  Entering Thursday’s game with Portland State, he continues to lead the nation in scoring, averaging 24.4 points per game.  He is also seventh in the nation in three-point field goals made per game and ranks ninth in the country in free throw percentage.  Lillard is also fourth in the Big Sky in assists and seventh in steals.  He has scored in double figures in all 20 games for the Wildcats this season and has scored 20 or more 15 times, including a career-high 41 points in a win over San Jose State in December.  Lillard has also been named a finalist for the John Wooden Award.    

The Oakland, Calif. native currently ranks second in Weber State career scoring and is 15th in Big Sky history.  He is also second in WSU history in career three-pointers made. 

Beginning February 6th via the Bob Cousy Award’s website – www.cousyaward.com – fans will be able to vote for the top point guard. The player that receives the most fan votes will receive one vote toward the final committee vote. Fan voting will run one month – beginning February 6th and will conclude March 6th.

An original list of 60-plus candidates was trimmed by a Hall of Fame appointed, nationally-based committee to the list of 11 student-athletes.  The current listing of 11 finalists for the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be narrowed down to five players on March 8th. The final five players in contention for the award will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Hall of Fame committee is made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2012 Bob Cousy Award will be awarded at the Hall of Fame’s Class Announcement on Monday April 2nd in New Orleans as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Previous winners of the Bob Cousy Award have included Jameer Nelson (St. Joseph’s), Raymond Felton (North Carolina), Dee Brown (Illinois), Acie Law (Texas A & M), DJ Augustin (Texas), Ty Lawson (North Carolina), Greivis Vasquez (Maryland) and last year’s recipient Kemba Walker (Connecticut). For more information on the 2012 Bob Cousy, log onto www.CousyAward.com.
About the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame
Located in Springfield, Massachusetts, the Birthplace of Basketball, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame promotes and preserves the game of basketball at every level – professional, collegiate, men and women.

2012 Bob Cousy Award 11 Finalists
Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Scott Machado, Iona
Casper Ware, Long Beach State
Phil Pressey, Missouri
Isaiah Canaan, Murray State
Kendall Marshall, North Carolina
Aaron Craft, Ohio State
Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary’s
Scoop Jardine, Syracuse
Damian Lillard, Weber State
Jordan Taylor, Wisconsin

Weber State Men's Basketball

  • WildcatTV
Big Sky TV

  • Stay Connected