Randy Rahe named finalist for Skip Prosser Award
Courtesy: Weber State  
Release: Thursday 03/26/2014
View larger
Randy Rahe is second in Big Sky history in career wins.
Courtesy: Weber State
Randy Rahe is second in Big Sky history in career wins.

Weber State men’s basketball head coach Randy Rahe has been named a finalist for the 2014 Skip Prosser Award, honoring head men’s basketball coaches who not only achieve success on the basketball court but who display moral integrity off of it as well.

Rahe is one of 15 finalists for the award joining Roman Banks (Southern University), John Becker (Vermont), Glenn Braica (St. Francis Brooklyn), Dick Hunsaker (Utah Valley), Tony Jasick (IPFW), Joe Jones (Boston University), Mike Krzyzewski (Duke), Paul Lusk (Missouri State), Phil Martelli (St. Joseph’s), Monte Ross (Delaware), Wayne Tinkle (Montana), Brian Wardle (Green Bay), Michael White (Louisiana Tech), and Jay Wright (Villanova) as finalists.

The Skip Prosser Award was established in 2008 and is given annually to a men’s basketball head coach who also exhibits strong moral character. Prosser spent 14 seasons as a head coach at several schools, including Xavier and Wake Forest.

Rahe just completed his eighth season as head coach at Weber State and led the Wildcats to a 19-12 record, a Big Sky regular season title, a Big Sky Tournament title and a trip to the NCAA Tournament. Rahe was also named Big Sky Coach of the Year this season and became the first coach in Big Sky history to earn the honor four times.

In his eight seasons with the Wildcats, Rahe has posted a career record of 169-87 (.660) and is 106-30 (.779) in Big Sky games. He ranks second on the all-time list for Big Sky Conference wins and is just the third coach in conference history to reach 100 career victories. He ranks third in conference history in career winning percentage and is fifth in league history in overall wins.

Rahe has led the Wildcats to four Big Sky titles in his eight seasons at WSU and had guided the ‘Cats to seven post-season tournament appearances, including two trips to the NCAA Tournament. He has coached five Big Sky MVP’s and 25 All-Conference performers.

The winner of the 2014 Prosser award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the NCAA Men’s Basketball Championship.

Weber State Men's Basketball

  • WildcatTV
Big Sky TV

  • Stay Connected